VIDEO: What Are People Searching For?

Source: GMI

Since its launch in September 2013, GMI’s Missiographics service has produced more than 20 infographics on global mission topics. Now they’re taking the next step and making infographic videos. A video version of their most popular missiographic to date explores what people in different parts of the world are searching for in their online Bible searches and how that might effect our message and ministry.

» Watch the video and explore GMI’s library of infographics. We encourage you to subscribe to the Missiographics newsletter.

» Readers looking for mission data and analysis might also want to subscribe to Justin Long’s newsletter, The Long View.

SERVICE: Connecting Churches with a World in Need

Source: Hungry for Life

Need some help getting missions off the ground in your church? Hungry for Life is basically an outsourced missions department. They help North American churches and organizations make connections with partners on the field, manage short-term team logistics, and facilitate projects focused on justice and compassion.

» To learn more, watch this two-minute video.

BOOK: Beyond Ourselves

Source: West Bow Press

Beyond Ourselves: How Can the Unreached Be Reached, by Daryl Kroeker. West Bow Press, 2014. 156 pages.

With so many still beyond reach of the gospel, many ask, “How can we reach them? What do we need to do?” We need to look beyond ourselves, says Daryl Kroeker. “We need to take ourselves out of the center of the equation and seek instead the best methods and means to see that all unreached people will clearly hear the gospel.”

Each chapter questions and critiques common practices that are more centered on what is best for us than what is needed to reach the unreached, then suggests ways to move forward.

» Buy the Kindle edition for US$3.99; other editions also available.

BOOKS: Three about God’s Work among Muslims

Sources: Various

Here are three books we’d like to commend to you. One’s just been revised and is on sale, another is being given away for free, and a third just came out on Kindle. Enjoy!

Encountering the World of Islam

The just-revised second edition of Encountering the World of Islam is available from Pioneers at the reduced price of US$19.99 for those who order by the end of August. The book includes articles from 80 authors and advocates a positive and biblical perspective on God’s heart for Muslims. Electronic editions will be available in a few months.

» Learn more or order your copy.

Miraculous Movements

City Team is giving away free copies of Jerry Trousdale’s encouraging book, Miraculous Movements, which describes how thousands of Muslims around the world are falling in love with Jesus. Available while supplies last; registration required.

» Request a free copy of Miraculous Movements.

The Wind in the House of Islam

David Garrison’s book A Wind in the House of Islam is now available in the Kindle format for US$9.99. This global survey of Muslim movements to Christ reflects extensive research and includes analysis of historical and cultural contexts.

» Learn more or purchase a copy.

WEBSITES: Meet Your Neighbors

Source: V3 Church Planting Movement

Want to find, meet, and welcome new neighbors in your community who not only don’t know Christ but also follow another of the world’s religions? These sites could help you organize a prayer walk or educational field trip, and perhaps make a friend with someone who may not know many Christians.

Islam

Salatomatic claims to be the world’s most comprehensive guide to mosques and Islamic schools. It lists the branch of Islam, the language of services, and often the ethnic background of constituents. The site is frequently updated. Another great site, Zabibah, lists halal restaurants and markets for Muslims by cities and zip codes.

Buddhism

Buddhanet helps identify not only where temples are located but also the Buddhist tradition to which that particular sacred space adheres. It lists Theravada, Mahayana, Vajrayana (Tibetan), and non-sectarian/mixed temples.

Hinduism

USATemples lists Hindu temples all around the United States. Another way to meet Hindus is at festivals. See this list of Hindu festival dates through 2015.

Jainism

Jaintemples list all of the Jain temples and centers in North America. Jainism is one of the world’s oldest religions. Jains are doctrinally vegetarian and often volunteer at animal rights organizations, which makes this an easy way to identify and meet them.

» See this list in context on the V3 site. See also their helpful article, Exegeting a Neighborhood within the City.

EVENTS: Conferences, Courses, Retreats, and More

Source: Missions Catalyst Events Calendar

August

August 3-9, ReBoot Re-entry Program (Calgary, AB, Canada). For returning missionary kids, ages 17-20, transitioning to life in Canada.

August 3-23, Manarah – Training in Outreach among Muslims (Dearborn, MI, USA). Intensive course on Islam and daily guided outreach with seasoned mentors from Christar.

August 4-8, Kairos Course (Temple City, CA, USA). Kairos is a nine-session, interactive course on world Christian mission. This one’s in Chinese!

August 4-10, MK/TCK Re-Entry Retreat (Gaston, SC, USA). Retreat designed for teens transitioning to college from missionary families.

August 8-17, Kairos Course (Savannah, GA, USA). Intensive version held on two weekends and one weeknight.

August 10-16, ReBoot Re-entry Program (Kitchener, ON, Canada). For returning missionary kids, ages 17-20, transitioning to life in Canada.

August 11-15, Kairos Course (Louisville, KY, USA). One-week intensive course.

August 15-16, Desire of the Nations Missions Conference (Copperas Cove, TX, USA). Hosted by Clear Creek Baptist Church.

August 19-20, Personal Support Raising Boot Camp (Schroon Lake, NY, USA).

August 21, Introduction to Policy Governance (online). Webinar from MissioNexus.

August 28, Realities in the World Today: The Global Context of Missions (online). Webinar from MissioNexus.

September

September 5-6, Missions Fest Pretoria (Pretoria, South Africa). Free, community-based conference in the Missions Fest tradition.

September 8 to December 7, Encountering the World of Islam course (online). This 12-week course is offered several times a year; “live” classes also beginning in several locations.

September 16-22, Traction Conference for Men (Interlaken, Switzerland). For men who serve in cross-cultural settings, hosted by Catalyst International.

September 17-18, Support Raising Bootcamp (Charlotte, NC, USA). Presented by Support Raising Solutions.

September 19-21, IBAM Impact Conference (Minneapolis, MN, USA). Take the next step in business as mission.

September 23-25, International Society for Frontier Missiology (Atlanta, GA, USA).

September 25-26, Mission Finance and Administration Conference (Atlanta, GA, USA). Provided by MissioNexus.

September 25-27, Mission Leaders Conference (Atlanta, GA, USA). Provided by MissioNexus.

September 26-29, Experiencing Partnering Workshop (Dallas, TX, USA). Develop a partnering approach to ministry. Provided by International Partnering Associates.

» View the complete calendar and/or submit an item.

VIDEOS: Call2All TV

call2alltvSource: Call2All

Call2All TV is a 30-minute news-magazine format program focused on highlighting what God is doing around the world with the global missions movement. Themes include evangelism in the 21st century, mobilizing prayer, reaching the unreached, eradicating Bible poverty, and more. Though some of the content has been around for a while, take a look; you’re sure to find something you haven’t seen before.

The dozen episodes in the first series, initially aired by Trinity Broadcasting Network starting in June 2013, are available to watch online. A second series is in development. Perhaps you could share these programs with your church or small group.

Not familiar with Call2All? It’s is a worldwide movement calling the church, leaders, and organizations together to finish the Great Commission.

» Visit Call2All TV for more information and links to each episode.

CURRICULUM: When Helping Hurts – The Small Group Experience

Source: Moody Publishers

When Helping Hurts: The Small Group Experience, by Steve Corbett and Brian Fikkert. Moody Publishers, 2014. 96 pages (plus online videos).

Fans of Corbett and Fikkert’s popular book on poverty alleviation, When Helping Hurts, will be glad to know that the publisher has creating a stand-alone resource designed to introduce the key ideas in an accessible and interactive way.

The new study, composed of six lessons, is designed to go with a (free) series of professional-quality online videos.

Rather than defining poverty as a lack of material things, the book addresses the roots of the issue: broken relationships with God, self, others, and the rest of creation.

» Purchase this resource from Amazon (or elsewhere) for US$8.85 (paperback) or US$6.79 (Kindle edition). Looks like Moody will soon be publishing another resource which may be helpful for training: Helping Without Hurting in Short-term Missions.